Film Reviews

Movie Review: The Wolf of Wall Street

This may come as a surprise to many people, but I was extremely disappointed by this film. For as long as I can remember, I have always been a great admirer of Martin Scorsese’s work. But, for some reason, I was not very impressed with this film. While I must admit, I did not know much about Jordan Belfort’s story going into this movie and I still don’t know much now, I was left feeling that this movie went a bit over the top with the explicit material.

Now, normally I can overlook such things. But, in this instance, it just seemed like the explicit material went overboard in terms of how much there was. It is quite possible that after reading the book, the story of the life of Jordan Belfort as told by him could make this ring true and bring a sense of reality to it, which would then make me understand the questions that I originally had.

Many people also raved about Leonardo DiCaprio and his performance, but I couldn’t see it. I have always had a difficult time getting into enjoying one of his performances and still do to this day. I am not sure why, it is a constant struggle for me and it leaves me a lingering question that I will soon have to find the answer to.

If you are one who is a Wall Street tycoon, understands the financial world, and enjoys the topic of stocks, then this film is certainly one that you will enjoy. I however am not one of those people. So, I wish you luck with this one, all 3 hours and 10 minutes of it…hopefully you have a better time than I did.

Have you seen The Wolf of Wall Street? Leave comments below!

Leave a Reply

